Back in 2020, Google introduced Nearby Share on Android devices. With this new feature, people using Android gadgets can quickly share any files or links with their nearby gadgets in the blink of an eye. Now, are you in search of that How to Turn Off Nearby Share on Android?
This feature became so famous because users do not have to access any Internet connections to share files or other content with their nearby devices. Although this feature totally changed content sharing, users still don’t have to use this smart opportunity all the time. You can share this feature just like Bluetooth.
This article by Engage Digital will reveal all the secrets of how a user can smartly turn off this exceptionally powered booster nearby sharing feature on their Android gadgets and keep all their privacy concerns checked!

Image Source: https://techpp.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/02/Nearby-Share-settings-on-Android-smartphone.jpg
What is Nearby Share?
In August 2020, when Google introduced this Nearby Share feature, had thought it would affect content sharing throughout Android devices exceptionally. You can take this Nearby Share similar to that specific Apple’s AirDrop feature.
Nearby Share smartly combines the power of Bluetooth along with Wi-Fi to instantly transfer data from one user to the other. Whatever content you want to share, from photos to documents from videos to audio files, you can do It easily.
But the point is, although it comes with exceptionally awesome features, there might be some reasons you want to switch it off.
- Privacy Concerns: With Nearby Share, you can easily connect to the devices present closer to your gadget. But sometimes, it can automatically connect, so you must keep it off to avoid any unnecessary content sharing.
- Battery Life: Just like Bluetooth, Nearby Share also drains the battery speedily, so if you want to save your battery life, switching it off can be a good choice.
- Data Usage: Although it is not connected with Bluetooth or Wi-Fi directly, sometimes, it consumes the data connection as users have set this feature by default to automatically sharing option.
- Unnecessary Alerts: In case you have a lot of devices around your gadget, you might face frequent distractions about file sharing.
Image Source: https://r2.community.samsung.com/t5/image/serverpage/image-id/4251387iB998B0B3991E5AF7?v=v2
How to Turn Off Nearby Share?
Turning off your Nearby Share feature on your mobile phones is So easy; let’s see how you can do it:
Step 1: Open the Settings App
Open your mobile phone, on your home screen, Scroll down. Here, you have to search for the settings option. In all Android mobile settings, the app icon is more like a gear. Click on this icon to visit your mobile settings.
Step 2: Navigate to Google Settings
When you click the settings option, dear will pop up a new screen. Now, it’s time to search the Google option present in your settings. To access the Google settings, click on this text. From here, a user can easily switch everything in between related to Google services on their smartphone.
Step 3: Select Device Connections
Over here mobile settings, there will be a lot of device connections. These connections actually tell you how your smartphone interacts with other gadgets. Click on this option to move to the next step.
Step 4: Open Nearby Share
When you click the device connection section, there will pop up a screen where you can see nearby sharing options. Click this text tool to redirect to your content-sharing settings.
Step 5: Toggle Off Nearby Share
In the Nearby Share settings, you can see our toggle switch. This switch easily explains whether your Nearby Share feature is currently on or off. In case you have enabled your sharing option, the toggle switch will be on, and you will see the color either blue or green.
If you want to switch off your Nearby Share option, Turn off the toggle switch, and the color will automatically change to Gray. It means now you have disabled your Nearby Share feature.
Step 6: Adjust Visibility Settings (Optional)
If you don’t think it’s necessary to turn this feature off, instead of switching it off, you can even limit the sharing access. To change the settings, you have to do some steps which include:
- All Contacts: If you enable all contacts everyone in your contact list can easily view your device.
- Some Contacts: By selecting your important contacts or the ones you usually share files, only those Android gadgets will see your device.
- Hidden: If you hide your device from all your contacts, although Nearby Share is enabled still, no one would be able to see your device on their smartphones while sharing the file.
Alternative Method: Using Quick Settings
It’s time to see how you can disable your Android’s Nearby Share option without following the above-mentioned long process. To make it quick, you have to:
- Swipe Down: On your mobile screen, swipe your finger down to access your quick panel settings.
- Find Nearby Share: Here, look for the Nearby Share option to view the settings. You might find it in the first row. If you are unable to view it, swipe your finger to the left side to access your Nearby Share option.
- Tap to Disable: Now follow the same process we had mentioned earlier turn your sharing option off if you do not want others to view your device.
Re-enabling Nearby Share
This was all about how to turn off your Nearby Share option. If you want to re enable it, you just have to follow the same directions we had discussed earlier. The only change is you will see the Nearby Share feature in gray. You have to turn it on to re-enable your feature.
Managing Nearby Share for Specific Situations
If you are one of those who mostly use Nearby Share to exchange files among different devices, if you want to know how to keep your device all the way managed while sharing different files with different devices, get hooked with us for some secret tips.
- Use Do Not Disturb Mode: If you are a part of some meeting and you do not want others to know about your content or file-sharing notifications, switch your smartphone to Do Not Disturb mode. This way, every notification will be silent.
- Set Up Device Visibility Schedules: Some of the Android gadgets come with a specific feature that Makes it easy for the users to schedule how and when the other devices can see their smartphone. With this track, you can switch off your Nearby Share option for specific time intervals when you do not need the notifications.
- Use Third-Party Privacy Apps: Apart from these usual ways, there are third-party apps and websites that can make your device visibility in full control while managing your file-sharing features.
Conclusion
All the Nearby Share is one of the most inventive yet cool features for Google to make file sharing easy like never before without using any Bluetooth or Wi-Fi on Android devices. However, sometimes, it becomes far more necessary to turn these features off for privacy concerns or to avoid any interruptions during meetings.
No matter for what purpose you want to turn this feature off it’s as easy as eating a pie. By integrating or managing your device with the Nearby Share feature, you can keep your smartphone aligned with your preferences. Switch your Nearby Share settings according to your file preferences now!
FAQs on How to Turn Off Nearby Share!
How can a user turn off sharing features on a smartphone?
If you want to turn off your sharing feature on your Android gadgets visit your mobile phone settings. From here, Scroll down to Google and click the device connections option. Now, see where Nearby Share is present. Turn it off to disable any file sharing.
What should I do to change my Nearby Share settings?
If you want to change your sharing settings on your Android gadgets, visit your mobile phone settings. From here, Scroll down to Google and click the device connections option. Now, see where Nearby Share is present. Now, you can easily change your file-sharing preferences here.
How to turn off my nearby devices?
Unfortunately, it’s not possible to turn off your nearby smartphones to stop any file sharing. Still, you can change your own smartphone settings to a hidden device to keep your device private from other mobile phones or networks present around yo
