Can You See Who Views Your TikToks?

TikTok is one of the most popular social media platforms in the world right now, with tons of features when it comes to making videos by yourself or stitching videos together with other users of the platforms.

Can You See Who Views Your TikToks

When you make a TikTok video, it is only natural that you might want to see who is actually looking at your videos, but is it possible to do so?

With this in mind, we are going to be looking at whether it is possible to see who views your TikTok videos, as well as whether other TikTok users can see your profile. Let’s get started. 

What Is TikTok?

First off, let’s take a closer look at the platform that is TikTok as a whole (see also “How To Make Playlists On Tiktok“). TikTok is a social media platform used for creating and sharing short-form videos that have a duration from 15 seconds to 3 minutes.

It is a Chinese app, but is widely used all over the world, and is known for its unique filters and effects.

Can You See Who Views Your TikToks?

Whilst you can’t see exactly who has looked at your videos, you can see your view count for each video. However, a feature called “post view history” does allow users to see who amongst their followers has watched their videos on TikTok (see also “How To Buy TikTok Followers: The 15 Best Sites“). 

That being said, this feature will only work if those who have viewed the videos have opted in to allow their watching activity to be tracked.

The post-view history option is also somewhat limited, as it only lets the user see the history for the next seven days after posting. 

How Do You Turn Post View History On And Off On TikTok?

Post view history started being tested in June 2022 and was rolled out to a fair amount of accounts by September 2022. If you find that you have post-view history turned on but would rather disable this feature, follow these simple steps: 

  • Go to the bottom bar once in the TikTok app and click on profile. 
  • Tap on the three lines that can be seen in the top right corner
  • Tap on the Settings and Privacy option and select Privacy
  • Search for the “Post Views” option
  • Simply toggle “Post View History” from on to off. 

Once switched off, your followers will not be able to see when you have looked at their videos and vice versa. To switch it back on, just follow those same steps again and toggle post view history back into the on position. 

Can You See Who Views Your TikTok Profile?

Being able to see who viewed your TikTok profile (see also “How To Get More Views On TikTok: 10 Essential Tips“) is a feature that also came about in 2022 after originally being removed from the platform in the middle of 2020.

The feature- known as “profile view history” allows the user to see who has visited their profile, but it does have several limitations to it. 

The major limitations here are that you can only see users who have viewed your profile in the last thirty days and that you can only see those who- much like with the post view history feature- also have the profile view history feature activated on their TikTok account (see also “Will TikTok Pay You For Views?“). 

How Do You Turn Profile View History On And Off On TikTok?

There are two ways that you can turn on your profile view history on TikTok, with the first method being via the profile views part of the app and the second being with the privacy settings that can be found on your TikTok account (see also “Can You Watch Tiktok Without The App Or Account?“).

Let’s have a look at both of these methods in a bit more detail. 

Via The Profile Views Screen 

  • Step One: Open up the TikTok app.
  • Step Two: Press on the icon in the top right-hand corner of the screen that looks like an eye. 
  • Step Three: Tap the red button that is marked as “Turn On”

It is as simple as that with the profile screens method! You can still use the privacy settings method though if you so choose, so let’s go through how to turn the profile view history on and off that way as well. 

Via The TikTok Privacy Settings

  • Step One: Open up the TikTok app and head over to your profile. 
  • Step Two: Tap on the icon in the top right-hand corner with three lines. 
  • Step Three: Choose the “Settings and Privacy” option and tap on “Privacy”
  • Step Four: Scroll down until you see the “Profile Views” option and tap on it. 
  • Step Five: Toggle the “Profile View History” button from off to on and then vice versa should you want to switch it off again. 

There you have it! It really is as simple as that to switch your TikTok profile view history either on or off. 

Final Thoughts

It is clear that the options on TikTok when it comes to knowing who is looking at your videos are quite limited, but this isn’t necessarily a bad thing.

Knowing who is looking at your content at all times could lead to a wealth of different issues, such as an increase in online bullying, toxic behaviors, and stalking. 

Keeping these features limited to only your followers- and only allowing it to function if both parties agree to have the feature switched on- allows for a little bit of control over proceedings, which can help lower the risk of destructive online behavior. 

Whilst the profile views features are slightly more open than the post views, it is still controlled by the fact that both parties must have the feature activated. 

Perhaps these features will change in the future or expand (the profile views feature was initially removed after all) but for now, TikTok only allows you to know who is watching your content and checking out your profile in this limited fashion.

Scroll to Top